Ringing in a New Year

Change.  It is the only constant thing in life. François de la Rochefoucauld was a French author who lived in the 1600’s and over 400 years later, his words still ring loud and clear, especially in my every day life.  

This last year brought on one of the biggest changes I will ever experience in my life.  For the past 29 years, I was a Wagner. I have always had a sense that my surname was a strong, respectful last name.  I never met my grandfather, the giver of this name to me, but his wife, my grandmother, fulfilled every aspect of what I believe a Wagner to be.  Caring, independent, sensitive and most of all, stubborn (in a good way; most of the time).  

On August 2, 2014, I gave that name away in order to begin a new family, a new life, with the man God has placed on this earth for me.  On that day, I became Mrs. Lauren Boyle.  Going from German to Irish wasn’t as hard as I thought, and the name is starting to sound more natural each and every day.   I have started to introduce myself as Lauren Boyle and even more so, I have started to answer to “Mrs. Boyle” when I’m at work.

Becoming a Boyle isn’t as easy as I thought it would be.  It never crossed my mind that simply by changing my last name, I would be changing my whole world as I knew it.  Boyle’s are hard workers, adventurous, dedicated and once again, stubborn (in a good way; some of the time).  After dating my now husband for 3 years before we were married, I have learned that becoming a Boyle means adventure is inevitable; hence our engagement on the top of Half Dome in Yosemite National Park, CA.  I’ve also learned that with hard work comes dedication.  My husband pours his heart and soul into everything he does.  He does his research before he makes a big purchase, which is why I know he’s the right man for me.  I know he wouldn’t have gotten down on one knee if he wasn’t 100% committed to becoming my other half, my partner in this life, for the rest of our lives.

With this new year upon us, and 5 months already passed, I am pledging a new dedication to carry on even the smallest bit of the Wagner with me through this journey.  I am passionate about writing. I have stacks of journals from my childhood piled in my nightstand that I don’t dare throw away.  It wasn’t excellent writing; in fact, more than 3/4 of it should probably never be read by another person, but it was me.

So now, I welcome you into my life as I balance these two wonderful surnames into one, taking the good with the bad and counting each day as a blessing.   With the passing of each day, I not only vow to write about the ups and downs of my journey of becoming a wife, I also vow to share a picture of something that has occurred that day.

Today, in our brief time together after Chris got home from work, we started a new tradition.  It’s one I have seen all over social media and one I believe is going to be very helpful in our quest to become more positively thinking people over the next year. *Side note – we have a lot of New Years Resolutions… one is bound to stick, right?

Today we began our blessings jar.  I’m not too sure how keen Chris was on the idea of me letting the world (or a very, very minuscule part of it) know that he will be doing this with me, but I guess that’s part of becoming a husband, especially a husband to me.  We will not tell each other what we are writing, we will not peek into the jar before December 31, 2015 and we will be positive.  Those are the only rules and I think when the day comes to read them, we will laugh, we will cry and we will rejoice in the many blessings God has given us over the course of the year.IMG_20150101_223709_903

Happy New Year Everyone.  May it be blessed with love, joy and hope in everything that you do.

Leave a Reply

