Pittsburgh

For all of my life I’ve had a love for Pittsburgh.  This city is absolutely breathtaking.  Except for this morning.

Since today was the big football game between the Steelers and Raven’s, Chris and I had decided a few days ago that I would take him to work in the morning.  This way I could pick him up and we could head right to his grandmother’s to watch the game.

During the school year, I am up and watching the news every morning while I get ready to help avoid any accidents, weather changes or any other freak occurrences that might end up delaying my arrival at work.  When I’m not working, the only way I know about the news is if I happen to read something on Facebook through WPXI’s page.  And that is exactly how I found out about this morning’s freezing rain; in the car, while looking through the recent posts on Facebook, already half way to Shadyside.  The roads weren’t horrible until we hit Shadyside.  We arrived at the hospital safely and my husband begged me to stay and not drive back home.  I was determined to get back to the house and get back in my warm bed, so I trekked on.  I made it all the way to the West View exit in about a half hour. I took my time and prayed the entire way.  I called Chris as I got off the exit to tell him I had made it.  I jinxed myself.

My entire trip from the moment I got off the exit until I got back to our house was 20 minutes of sliding my way down the icy glazed roads a few yards at a time (it usually takes me 3 minutes).  Definitely not my idea of a fun time.  As I pulled into the driveway, thanking God for getting me home safely without a scratch on my car, I noticed all of the neighbors standing outside.  They preceded to tell me that a car had just slid down the road and hit 3 cars parked on the side and just kept on moving.  Everyone was checking the damage on their cars and trying to collect as much information on the vehicle that hit them as possible.  Sadly, I was not much help.  While we were all talking, we noticed more cars trying to make it down the hill.  3 cars slid down the hill so fast that it looked as if they were flying.

As we are all standing there, a small little car (I really have no clue what make or model), started making it’s way down the hill and we all said (pretty much) in unison, “Here we go, again”.  The car started to slide and then came to a complete, sideways, stop.  A few moments later, another car came down the same hill toward the sideways stopped car.  Feeling the pressure, this car decided to let go of it’s breaks and “slowly drift” down the road. That “slow drift” didn’t last long and as we watched the car slide, we knew this one wasn’t going to be so lucky.  All of my neighbors were running back to their porches as the car slid into the van parked at the top of the street, setting it into gear and sending it flying through 2 yards and then smack up against the corner of the next house.  Luckily, no one was hurt.  My neighbors checked on the girl in the car and she was fine, just shell-shocked.  The police arrived and I heard the fire engines and at the point, I decided it was time to head back inside to try and get some rest. It was only 8:45 in the morning and I had been up since 6:00.  I still don’t know what happened after that.  The roads were fine later when I left to go to lunch with my best friend and my goddaughter; however, the van was still sitting against the side of the house until much later that afternoon.

If you look closely in this picture you can see the taillights of the car that slid (right behind the telephone pool on the left side of the picture).  The van used to be parked right where that car is now.  The next picture is a close up of where the van was at the end of this fiasco.

Displaying IMG_20150103_075719_645.jpg

 

Displaying IMG_20150103_081335_759.jpg

All I have to say is that I am lucky to have made it home safely without a scratch on myself or my car.  It truly was a miracle.  I will admit without any shame that the entire trip I prayed.  I would ask God to get me safely to a certain point ahead of me and when He got me there, I thanked Him.  I repeated this process the entire way home.  When I arrived home safely, all I could do was praise Him.  He works in mysterious ways.  He is amazing.

So back to my reasoning on why I love this city.  I’ve always been a Penguins fan and a Steelers fan, even though I lived right outside of Baltimore for almost 7 years (we moved there when I was 5).  Hockey has been and always will be my favorite sport.  Tonight though, the main focus was on the Steelers.  It was a tough game to watch and even a tougher game to lose.  Losing to the Ravens has always been especially hard for me.  Partially because my Facebook News feed gets flooded with Ravens fans who are bashing the Steelers, but mainly just because I don’t like the Ravens.  A hatred between Baltimore teams and Pittsburgh teams has always been in my blood, but I will always bleed black and gold.  So even though tonight’s outcome was not the one we were all hoping for, I’m privileged to come from a city with such a great love for sports and with such wonderful fans that (mostly) support their teams through the ups and downs (bandwagon fans are realllllllly annoying).

I could sit here for days listing the reasons why I love this city:  I was born here, my family lives here, I love the sports teams, I had my first apartment here, first job here, bought my first car here, met my husband here, and the list goes on and on and on.  Sure I love to travel, but there is nothing that can replace the feeling you get when you arrive home to this beautiful (most of the time) city.

I can’t wait to raise my children here, someday. No, not yet! For now, Chris and I are enjoying being aunt and uncle to 4 nieces, 1 nephew, 1 fake-nephew, and 1 goddaughter (pictured below wearing the glasses from the Mr. Potato Head set I got her).

Displaying IMG_20150103_133040_129.jpg

Leave a Reply

